Jun 20, 2019

England u/20 Announce 2019 Squad


England u/20's have named their squad for the 2019 Six Nations as well as their World Rugby u/20 Championship to be hosted in Argentina during May and June this year.

Ted Hill (Worcester Warriors) who made his England senior debut during the November Internationals is the only player who already represented England at senior test level. 14 of the 32 players have already been capped at u/20 level with 10 players included who played in the 2018 final of the World Rugby Championship against France.

The squad will be coached by Steven Bates and Jim Mallinder with Mark Hopley (Northampton Saints), James Scaysbrook and Richard Whiffin (Gloucester Rugby) joining the squad as part of the coach development programme.

“Selecting the 32-player squad was a very difficult task which reflects the quality of the group," said Bates.

"We have several players with Premiership experience and that speaks volumes of how good they are. The expectation for us now is to raise the standard and quality of performance from last season’s group and for the players to continue to develop in this environment.

“We used close to 40 players in last year’s Six Nations, there will always be injuries and those outside of the 32 will still be required so my message to them is to stay fit, stay interested and to continue playing well.

“One of the big things about U20s rugby is that we want the players to drive the game and environment we create. These are the best players at their age and we want them to perform like it on and off the pitch.

“The wider group will meet on Sunday and during the week we need to set some parameters around how we want to play, for the players to continue to get to know each other on and off the pitch so it becomes instinctive when they play, as well as to develop our set piece and defensive organisation.”

The Squad: 


Olly Adkins (Gloucester), Josh Basham (Durham University), Will Capon (Bristol Bears), Richard Capstick (Exeter Chiefs), Alex Coles (Northampton Saints), Nic Dolly (Sale Sharks), James Dun (Bristol Bears), Joe Heyes (Leicester Tigers), Ted Hill (Worcester Warriors), Aaron Hinkley (Gloucester), Joel Kpoku (Saracens), Samson Ma'asi (Northampton Saints), Kai Owen (Worcester Warriors), James Scott (Worcester Warriors), Marcus Street (Exeter Chiefs), Tom Willis (Wasps).


Tom De Glanville (Bath), Fraser Dingwall (Northampton Saints), Connor Doherty (Sale Sharks), Ollie Fox (Yorkshire Carnegie), Tom Hardwick (Leicester Tigers), Ollie Hassell-Collins (London Irish), Josh Hodge (Newcastle Falcons), Ollie Lawrence (Worcester Warriors), Sam Maunder (Exeter Chiefs), Cadan Murley (Harlequins), Cameron Redpath (Sale Sharks), Arron Reed (Sale Sharks), Ollie Sleightholme (Northampton Saints), Marcus Smith (Harlequins), Gus Warr (Sale Sharks), Kieran Wilkinson (Sale Sharks).

2019 6 Nations Fixtures:

01/02/2019 v Irish @ Irish Independent Park Ireland

09/02/2019 v Franch @ Sandy Park (Exeter Chiefs)

22/02/2019 v Wales @ Zip World Stadium Wales

08/03/2019 v Italy @ Goldington Road (Bedford Blues)

15/03/2019 v Scotland @ Franklin's Gardens (Northampton Saints)



error: Content is protected !!